twitter
facebook
pinterest
rss
Email: info@justonjuice.com | Login | Messages

Juicing Forum

Welcome Guest 

Show/Hide Header

Welcome Guest, posting in this forum requires registration.

Pages: 1
Author Topic: Green Slushy?

dawnoldham
Juicer
Green Slushy?
on: November 30, 2013, 16:32

Hi all,
I'm very new to juicing and despite trying many recipes I haven't found any that I find even remotely appetizing. In fact, I usually find myself gulping them down while holding my breath. Unfortunately I have a sweet tooth but I really don't want to add lots of fruit or sweet veg to my juices as I understand that sweet things will give me a massive glucose spike which I don't want.

Also, I understand that juice should be consumed on an empty stomach so obviously morning is ideal, however being a busy mum of 3 year old twins I'm usually in a rush and don't always have a spare 20 mins to prepare fresh juice and wash the juicer. I'm quite often out the house in the day too so preparing it for lunch is also out of the question.

I've read up on storing juice and it seems that the longer it's left the less nutritious it becomes so I came up with the idea of freezing the juice in ice cube trays and then turning it into a slushy when I want to drink it. I'll explain exactly how I do it but just wanted someone with more knowledge than me to tell me if they think this method is ok or if I'm destroying the juice by freezing it?

Method:
1. Make huge batch of juice with wide range of nutritious vegetables (no fruit).
2. Freeze in ice cube trays
3. When ready to drink, smash ice cubes up into a 'slush' and pour into glass
4. Add about 3-4 oz of apple juice*** Just enough to make it drinkable.
5. Drink immediately

***Either home juiced apples sealed in a jar but stored for 1-2 days or store bought apple juice (I know this is pasteurised but I consider the apple juice a 'carrier' for the vegetable juice)

For me the pros are obvious: